Main Nav

The Sixty-Eight Rooms

Click this cover for a(n) Audiobook sample of The Sixty-Eight Rooms.
Wish list ribbon
The Sixty-Eight Rooms Sample

The Sixty-Eight Rooms

Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure Series, Book 1
Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the Children's Galleries of the Chicago Art Institute, they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature...
Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the Children's Galleries of the Chicago Art Institute, they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature...
Available formats-
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
  • OverDrive WMA Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Reading Level:
    3 - 6


 
Description-
  • Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the Children's Galleries of the Chicago Art Institute, they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature rooms made in the 1930s by Mrs. James Ward Thorne. Each of the 68 rooms is designed in the style of a different historic period, and every detail is perfect, from the knobs on the doors to the candles in the candlesticks. Some might even say, the rooms are magic.

    Imagine--what if you discovered a key that allowed you to shrink so that you were small enough to sneak inside and explore the rooms' secrets? What if you discovered that others had done so before you? And that someone had left something important behind?

    Fans of Chasing Vermeer, The Doll People, and From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will be swept up in the magic of this exciting art adventure!


    From the Hardcover edition.

Excerpts-
  • From the book

    Getting up in the morning was always a challenge for Ruthie. It wasn't waking up that was difficult--it was getting out of bed. She had to scrunch down to the end of her bed and climb out through the narrow opening between her desk and her sister's dresser. Then she had to be careful where she placed her feet on the floor because the under-the-bed storage bin for her summer clothes didn't quite fit under her twin bed. It stuck out just enough to trip her or stub a toe. The other difficult part was to avoid waking up her sister so Ruthie could claim the bathroom first. Claire was older and seemed to need much more time in the bathroom before school--or before going anywhere--than Ruthie did. Ruthie didn't understand why that was but it was an observation she had made many, many times.

    Claire was nice enough--not horrible like some siblings Ruthie had heard of. But she took up so much time and space. Mostly space. In their little room, Claire's stuff dominated by far. She had a computer and a big printer on her already larger desk, all her sports equipment, lots of clothes piled everywhere and a growing mountain of college brochures, SAT study guides and application information. Claire was a junior in high school and starting the process of applying to college. Ruthie counted the days till her sister went away to school. Then she would have her own room.

    This morning Ruthie woke up first and made her way through the small path in their bedroom to the doorway without waking Claire. She looked down the hall--great luck! The bathroom was empty and all hers. Among the kids at her school she was the only one whose family shared one bathroom.

    Ruthie turned on the shower first to let the water warm up, took her one bottle of shampoo off the wire rack and tried to find a space for it on the shower ledge next to Claire's and their mom's gazillion hair care products. It wasn't easy.

    As the warm water ran over her back she stood there for a moment, mulling the fact that the shower was just about the only place in her apartment where she could be alone and think privately. She envisioned the day ahead of her, the field trip and what the chances were of something cool happening today. Why not today? After a really exciting or unusual thing happens, do people look back and say, "I thought something would happen today"? Probably not. But why not? Ruthie wondered. Don't people ever have a feeling,a sign that something great will happen? Her time alone
    was interrupted when the door to the bathroom opened, not once but three times.

    From behind the map-of-the-world shower curtain she heard her dad say, "Sorry, Ruthie, I'm just looking for a book I thought I left in here last night."

    "Dad, please!" Ruthie said.

    "Don't worry, I can't see anything! Now, where did I put it?" He closed the door. Sheesh!

    A minute later it was her mom. "Ruthie, have you seen your father's book on American history?"

    "Mom, do you mind? No, I haven't. He already asked me."

    "Well, don't take too long in the shower. Your sister needs to get going."

    Right on cue, Claire came in and started brushing her teeth.

    "Claire, can't I have any privacy?"

    "Oh, Ruthie. Don't be a prude. Hurry up, okay?"

    Six hundred and thirty-five days till she goes to college, Ruthie groaned to herself. An eternity!


    From the Hardcover edition.

Reviews-
  • AudioFile Magazine Marianne Malone has created a tribute to the Thorne Room miniatures at the Chicago Art Institute, and narrator Cassandra Campbell takes the endearing story to sublime heights with a perfect narration. Ruthie and Jack are friends who shrink and travel back in time in an adventure that would make Harry Potter take notice. Campbell captures the kids' youthful enthusiasm and simple goodness as they bond with the adults they meet. Through the museum's displays, they meet people from the Salem witch trials, the French Revolution, and more. Campbell's delivery of accents and old-fashioned speech patterns is moving and accurate. An author interview at the end of the production sheds light on her inspiration for the story. S.G.B. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award (c) AudioFile 2011, Portland, Maine
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Listening Library
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:
  • OverDrive WMA Audiobook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.
    OverDrive WMA Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Not permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted (3 times)
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Bookshelf to manage your titles.

×

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Bookshelf?

×

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are permitted to recommend at this time.

×

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

×
×

×

To recommend The Sixty-Eight Rooms, complete the following information:

*indicates required information

(comma separates multiple email addresses, i.e. bob@aol.com, bob@hotmail.com)

Subject: Check out this downloadable title at the Washington Anytime Library


We respect your privacy. Any and all information collected at this site will be kept strictly confidential and will not be sold, reused, rented, loaned, or otherwise disclosed.

×
Recommend this title to the library to be added to the Digital Collection
The Sixty-Eight Rooms
The Sixty-Eight Rooms
Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure Series, Book 1
Marianne Malone
×
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
The Sixty-Eight Rooms
The Sixty-Eight Rooms
Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure Series, Book 1
Marianne Malone
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title now.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
×