This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

Close cookie details

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav

Black Water

Cover of Black Water

Black Water

A New American Opera
Borrow

Based on National Book Award-winner Joyce Carol Oates' novella about the Chappaquiddick scandal, this tragic and beautiful new opera enthralls as a handsome Senator uses his power to enchant, seduce and carelessly destroy.

Based on National Book Award-winner Joyce Carol Oates' novella about the Chappaquiddick scandal, this tragic and beautiful new opera enthralls as a handsome Senator uses his power to enchant, seduce and carelessly destroy.

Available formats-
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Reading Level:

Recommended for you


 
Awards-
Reviews-
  • AudioFile Magazine Why is AUDIOFILE reviewing what is essentially a chamber opera? Because it's audio drama of sorts; because it's produced by L.A. Theatre Works, the works of whom frequently appear in these pages; because it's based on Joyce Carol Oates's novel of the same name; and because it's so damned good. Here, in the tradition of NIXON IN CHINA, Oates and composer John Duffy present a roman ê clef about the scandal of Ted Kennedy at Chappaquiddick. For modern opera, the music is particularly accessible, if not exactly tuneful. The pristine recording preserves a live concert performance in Los Angeles, featuring a superb cast backed by a three-piece instrumental ensemble. Karen Burlingame as Kelly and Patrick Mason as the Senator stand out for their fine voices and passionate portrayals. Y.R. (c) AudioFile, Portland, Maine
  • —Audiofile Magazine Here, composer John Duffy present a roman à clef about the scandal of Ted Kennedy at Chappaquiddick. The pristine recording preserves a live concert performance in Los Angeles, featuring a superb cast backed by a three-piece instrumental ensemble.
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    L.A. Theatre Works
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Bookshelf to manage your titles.

×

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Bookshelf?

×

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are permitted to recommend at this time.

×

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

×
×

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

×

Permissions

×

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

×

×

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

×

To recommend Black Water, complete the following information:

*indicates required information

(comma separates multiple email addresses, i.e. bob@aol.com, bob@hotmail.com)

Subject: Check out this downloadable title at the Washington Anytime Library


We respect your privacy. Any and all information collected at this site will be kept strictly confidential and will not be sold, reused, rented, loaned, or otherwise disclosed.

×
Recommend this title to the library to be added to the Digital Collection
Black Water
Black Water
A New American Opera
Joyce Carol Oates
×
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Black Water
Black Water
A New American Opera
Joyce Carol Oates
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
×

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

×
×

To recommend '', complete the following information:

*indicates required information

(comma separates multiple email addresses, i.e. bob@aol.com, bob@hotmail.com)

Subject: Check out this downloadable title at the Washington Anytime Library

We respect your privacy. Any and all information collected at this site will be kept strictly confidential and will not be sold, reused, rented, loaned, or otherwise disclosed.

×